• JuliA

    I spend my time writing, translating and practicing yoga. Sometimes I stand in the teacher’s spot in a Mysore class. I’m also dedicated to raising my children and the idea of sleeping just a little bit more.

    Bio

    I was born in the US in 1974, but I have lived in Argentina for the last two decades. I came to Buenos Aires with my (Argentine) husband when I was 23, in love with him and his country.

    I have written since I was a child, and I studied literature and poetry at Haverford College (1996). I received Masters Degrees in French literature and Creative Writing from Bryn Mawr College and Goldsmiths College (University of London). My essays and stories have been published in anthologies and literary journals in the UK, South Africa, the US and Argentina. For the past decade I have worked with the artist Leandro Erlich; I collaborated on his first book The Ordinary? (Kanazawa, 2014), in addition to published essays for the recent exhibitions The Construction of Reality (Shanghai, 2018) and Liminal (Buenos Aires, 2019). I have also written several children’s books, and I sometimes work as a photographer.

    I discovered yoga through a sports-related injury and from that moment I have practiced with dedication and consistency. Within the tradition of Ashtanga Vinyasa, I have studied with Alejandro Chiarella, Juan Pablo Capdevila, Tim Miller, Guy Donahaye, Randy Arromando, Eddie Stern and Ty Landrum. In 2015 and 2017, I had the privilege of attending Richard Freeman and Mary Taylor’s Teachers Intensive at the Yoga Workshop. Richard and Mary are personal heroes and guides, and I have been honored to work as translator and editor of their books in Spanish. I currently offer seminars on foundational yoga texts and asana at different studios in and around Buenos Aires.

    In 2016, I founded the Colección Ananta, a series of books on yoga for the Argentine publisher El hilo de Ariadna. In addition to my duties as editor, I also work on the translations for Ananta. My own forthcoming book, En la Práctica, is an exploration of the intersection of yoga practice, its philosophy and everyday life; it will be published in Argentina and Spain in October, 2020.

     

     

  • "I had once had other dreams for myself, other plans, but yoga simply outshone them"

    – Dena Kingsberg

  • Yoga

    Thoughts, ideas, what comes up in practice

    ​ Recently I went to Thailand to participate in a ten-day silent yoga retreat on the island of Koh Samui. I still find it difficult to connect my actual self to this story: Julia in Thailand. I never assumed that spiritual journeys to Southeast Asia would be even a tiny chapter in my biography,...
    June 25, 2018
    There has been a lot said and written in the past months about Pattabhi Jois’s inappropriate assists and how to contextualize them in the practice we ashtanguis hold sacred; this has occurred as a legion of powerful and charismatic man are held accountable for crossing the line with so many women...
    It can frustrating to confront the personal nature of truth. We discover time and again that our experience is unique and non-transferrable, that it surpasses the capacity of others to understand via the intellect or empathy. Only we can know just how something happened or what it meant for our...
    More Posts
  • Books

    Translations, essays, anthologies and more

    Yoga Mala

    Spanish translation

    In April 2017, we presented La Colección Ananta’s first volume: Pattabhi Jois’s Yoga Mala. It has been an honor and adventure to translate this timeless text.

    The Ordinary?

    The work of Leandro Erlich

    Argentine conceptual artist Leandro Erlich creates work that triggers changes in our perception of reality through objects and actions commonly shared by everyone. Taking something ordinary and transforming it into the extraordinary, his pieces awaken surprise and delight in viewers, often through accessibility and innate humour. Simply put, his oeuvre encourages participation. Published on the occasion of Erlich's first solo exhibition in Japan, at the 21st Century Museum of Contemporary Art, this book documents the exhibited works through images, essays and an interview.

     

    I have worked with Leandro for many years and we are looking forward to more collaborative projects like this book.

    Mujeres Argentinas

    Argentine women profiled by a diverse group of expatriate writers​

    The book explores the stories of a fascinating group of Argentine women: famous and anonymous, political and personal. I helped edit this anthology with my great friends Nicole Dunaway, Zhanna Macmillen and Annie-France Charbonneau. Women writers and photographers from thirteen different countries participated in this

    book, which was critically acclaimed by the Argentine press and widely publicized (2012). In 2014, I further developed this project as the curator of a photography show that featured the work of Lucila Heinberg, Masako Kano, Paula Teller and Hanneke Vaanholdt.

    El arte de vinyasa

    Translation by Julia Napier and Zaira Valerin Mercanti​

    It is our great privilege to present Richard Freeman and Mary Taylor's inspired book on the practice and spirit of yoga. In bookstores throughout Latin America and Spain by May, 2018!

    Yoga, salud y la sanación

    La tradición viva de T. Krishnamacharya​

    We are thrilled to announce the new publication in Spanish of Health, Healing and Beyond, TKV Desikachar's wonderful biography of his father, the legendary T. Krishnamacharya. Considered the "father" of modern yoga, this book is an indispensable guide for those who wish to investigate the tradition in which they practice. In bookstores throughout Latin America from April, 2018.

    El espejo del yoga

    Translation by Julia Napier and Zaira Valerín Mercanti

    We are pleased to announce the publication in Spanish of El espejo del yoga, Richard Freeman's wonderful discussion of the yoga tradition and its philosophical depth. Available in Latin America and Spain as of September, 2018!

    La cocina ayurvédica

    It's an honor to present this indispensable book on the fundamentals of Ayurveda, India's time-honored tradition of health and wellbeing. The eminent Dr. Carmen Frigerio and her longtime disciple Ana María Lewandowski offer delicious recipes that are easy to prepare and wonderful to eat. With an original foreword by Dr. Robert Svoboda and illustrations by Luciana Garabello.  

    Bodyfulness

     

    Christine Caldwell's remarkable new book explores the dynamic relationship between muscle, mind and soul. We are so pleased to include this title in Ananta's growing list and include somatic counseling within the body-centered practices that engage the deepest and unnamable core of human experience.

    Recent publications

    Our most recent titles include Eddie Stern's wonderful book Una cosa sencilla and Michael Stone's La Tradición profunda del yoga.

    What's next?

    We are excited to publish Edward Espé Brown's No Recipe in October 2020. In April, 2021, we will release my book Life, in practice, a collection of essays on the intersection between daily life and the yoga tradition. We are honored to be currently translating Julie Yip-William's astonishing memoir The Unwinding of the Miracle, an exploration of life, death and everything that comes after. It's an exciting challenge to take on Tim Parks's fascinating new take on consciousness Out of My Head. We are thrilled to have acquired the rights for Sharon Salzburg's classic book Faith.

    Ebooks!

    Una cosa sencilla, La cocina ayurvédica and La tradición profunda del yoga are now available as ebooks from Amazon, Kobo, Casa del Libro, BajaLibros, Ghandi and many more online platforms.

  • Workshops and events

    Activities past, present and future!

    Workshop with Edwin Bryant, 2017

    November 24-26, 2017, Buenos Aires.

    It was such a privilege to host Edwin Bryant twice in the past year to discuss the Bhagavad Gita, along with the Yoga Sutra. Thanks to Laura Basile, Gabriel Martino and Ceci Carrano for their wonderful collaborative work that made this workshop possible.

    Book Launch of Yoga Mala in Spanish, 2017

    On April 30th, Eddie Stern (director of the Broome Street Temple and the Brooklyn Yoga Club) and Leandro Pinkler (co-director de El hilo de Ariadna) presented Yoga Mala in Buenos Aires. Yoga Mala has sold widely in Argentina and is now available in Spain!

    Richard Freeman and Mary Taylor in Buenos Aires! May, 2018

    It was a great honor to host Richard and Mary in their first visit to Latin America. We can only hope they will come back soon! Special thanks to Andrea de Palma and Raphael Melo for letting me in on the fun in Brazil.

     

    Join the Facebook page: Richard Freeman & Mary Taylor en Argentina if you want to stay in touch.

    Presentation of Yoga, salud y sanación by TKV Desikachar, 2018

    We were so pleased to host Radha Sundararajan, a Senior teacher at the Krishnamacharya Yoga Mandiram and longtime student of Desikachar, for the presentation of Yoga, salud y sanación, the Spanish language translation of Health, Healing and Beyond. This book offers precious insight into the life and learning of Krishnamacharya and the genesis of the modern yoga tradition. .

    Presentation of El arte de Vinyasa, 2018

    It was an honor to be conversation with Richard Freeman and Mary Taylor for the presentation in Buenos Aires of their superb book El arte de Vinyasa. Here you can listen to the whole interview:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MquRkzFRfLs

    Presentation of El espejo del yoga, 2018

    This November we celebrated Richard Freeman's landmark text at Fundación Vocación Humana. It was an honor to participate in a dialogue with Leandro Pinkler, co-editor-in-chief at El hilo de Ariadna, and Gabriel Martino, a yoga academic and Sanskritist. We enjoyed this unusual opportunity to discuss the philosophy of the yoga tradition in a broader context, in the same spirit that Richard Freeman displays in his wonderful book.

    Presentation of La cocina ayurvédica, 2019

    On June 29th, we presented La cocina ayurvédica with the help of co-author Ana María Lewandowski, Dr. Sol Sananes, Sumati Deshmukh and Sisi Adam. These extraordinary women shared their knowledge of Ayurveda and celebrated the life and work of Carmen Frigerio. We are honored to include this wonderful book in our collection.

    Presentation of Bodyfulness, 2019

    On Tuesday, November 5th, Dr. Christine Caldwell and I discussed her revelatory new book Bodyfulness at Faena Libros in Buenos Aires. It was an honor to welcome Dr. Caldwell to Argentina, and we hope that she will return soon!

    Bodyfulness Workshop

    During her visit to Argentina, Dr. Caldwell taught a workshop on Bodyfulness and how to cultivate a contemplative somatic practice. Thanks to everyone who participated!

    Presentation of Una cosa sencilla

    In light of the current challenges of the Covid-19 pandemic, we have published Eddie Stern's wonderful book in print and online. We are so happy to be able to share Una cosa sencilla with readers all over the world! Look out on IG and FB for an interview with Eddie about yoga, science and life's greater mysteries!

  • Where to Find Me

    Activities, affinities

    Colección Ananta

    As editor of the Colección Ananta, I help select texts from the yoga tradition for the renowned publishing house El hilo de Ariadna.

    Friends and Mentors

    www.richardfreemanyoga.com/home

     

    www.ashtangayogaphulla.com

     

    www.facebook.com/NomadYogaShala

     

    www.omyogaguatemala.com

     

    www.facebook.com/casarosaashtangayoga

     

    www.yogaom.com.au

     

    https://bobthurman.com

     

    www.mysoreoakland.com

     

     

  • Contact me

    All Posts
    ×